5 Basic Email Templates to Use to Negotiate a Higher Rate

In partnership with

Most Lead Magnets Suck. This One Doesn't.

Lame PDFs gathering dust? Videos no one watches?

What if your lead magnet felt like a friendly chat delivering massive value? One that slots into their daily routine for ultra-high conversion?

That's the power of an email-based course. And Master the Email-Based Course gives you the full, proven blueprint top creators use for lead gen, revenue creation, and more.

Dickie Bush said it best: "Actionable takeaways within 5 minutes of digging in. Huge value."

If you don’t ask for more, you will never get it. You have to advocate for yourself and that includes valuing your time, knowledge, and abilities. That includes learning how to negotiate your rate and the scope of work (and knowing when to walk away).

This is especially important for women. Payoneer found in 2022 that female freelancers made 82% of what male freelancers made. Male freelancers charge 26.4% more than female freelancers on average, according to OnDeck this year.

I prefer to discuss money over email. I think it’s a lot easier to negotiate over email instead of over a Zoom where I’ll be tempted to blurt out a number.

— Kaitlyn

Steal these email templates for the next time you negotiate

NEGOTIATING RATES ON A FIRST ASSIGNMENT

Hello!

I’m excited to take on this [project/article]. Is there any room in the budget for a higher rate?

Thanks,

[Your name]

NEGOTIATING A HIGHER RATE FOR FUTURE ASSIGNMENTS

I use this when I’m speaking with an editor I’ve worked with for a few months or a few assignments. There’s no harm in asking! I’ve had editors say yes and editors say no and still gotten assignments.

Hi [Editor],

I love [working on this assignment/writing this column]. So far, I’ve done [examples]. I was wondering, is there any room in your budget for a higher rate?

Thanks so much! I love working with you.

[your name]

NEGOTIATING A RATE AFTER RECEIVING REGULAR ASSIGNMENTS

Friend of the newsletter and former NYT editor Tim Herrera suggests this:

Thanks again for this assignment! I just wanted to ask: We’ve done X, Y, and Z stories together, and I’m wondering if with this new assignment we could revisit my rate? I’d love to be at around [rate]. Thanks!

NEGOTIATING A LOWER SCOPE OF WORK WHEN THE BUDGET CAN’T MOVE

Sometimes you want to work with a client, but they want more work than it’s worth. In these situations, it’s worth seeing if you can lower the scope of work.

Hi there!

I would love to work with you, but that rate is below my fee. I’d like the rate to be around [price]. If that’s not possible, I can do [XYZ] within your budget.

Thank you,

[Your name]

NEGOTIATING A HIGHER RATE BECAUSE IT’S TIME

I like to raise rates at the beginning of the year or with a new quarter. Sometimes I need to tell a client that I either need a higher rate or I can’t work with them in the future, and this is one way to start that conversation.

Hi [name],

I adjust my rates every so often to keep up with inflation and to account for new skills, which also allows me to provide you with better service! As of [date], my rate will be [price].

If this new rate doesn’t work for you, please let me know. I can connect you with another freelancer.

Thank you,

[Your name]

NEGOTIATING A HIGHER RATE BECAUSE OF A HIGHER SCOPE OF WORK

Some clients will push for more work outside of your agreed upon scope of work. This is one way a contract comes in clutch.

Hello!

I’m confident I can accomplish your goals, but this is outside of the scope of work previously agreed on. As per our [contract/email], I will deliver [x] per [date]. I can do [requested scope], but as it is outside of the contract, there will be budget changes. Are you okay paying more for the [outcome]?

Thanks,

[Your name]

COPY PASTE

Related reading where you can learn more about this topic.

P.S. Please take a second to give feedback. I’m eager to hear your thoughts as I develop this section of the newsletter.

How do you feel about today's edition?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Join the conversation

or to participate.